Thursday, May 22, 2008

Nominations Now Being Accepted for theThird Annual Yolanda Garcia Community Planner Award

Nominations Now Being Accepted for theThird Annual Yolanda Garcia Community Planner Award
The Yolanda Garcia Community Planner Award (YGCP) acknowledges the often-unsung leaders of grassroots, community-based planning. The award was created to commemorate the work of Ms. Yolanda Garcia, a community activist in the South Bronx. Under Ms. Garcia’s leadership, the residents of Melrose challenged the city, created an alternative to an urban renewal plan, and transformed a neighborhood. The organization created by Ms. Garcia, We Stay/Nos Quedamos, is bringing that community’s vision to life through planning, design, construction, and programming. On April 19, 2007, the second annual YGCP award was presented to Ms. Elizabeth Yeampierre during a spirited celebration for her work at UPROSE.
This year the Planning Center is seeking to present the YGCP award to a community planner who embodies the spirit of the work of Ms. Garcia and Nos Quedamos. The award will be presented to an individual who has demonstrated his or her ability to overcome the many obstacles to grassroots, community-based planning and has succeeded in bringing neighborhood need and vision into New York City’s planning process.
The award recipient must:
Work on a placed-based community plan aimed at addressing local needs, limiting displacement, and improving the overall quality of life for neighborhood residents;
Be a self-taught planner with no formal, academic, or professional training as a planner;
Work in a low to moderate income community within NYC’s five boroughs;
Use an inclusive, community-driven approach that values participation and the use of local knowledge;
Have a proactive approach to planning focusing not only on advocacy but the actual creation and implementation of a community-based plan.
Nominations are to be submitted as essays, not to exceed 500 words, by a person familiar with the applicant’s work.
Nominations will be reviewed by the YGCP awards selection committee. Member of the selection committee include: Yolanda Gonzalez/Nos Quedamos, Tom Angotti/Hunter College, Ron Shiffman/Pratt Institute, Micaela Birmingham/New Yorkers for Parks, Damaris Reyes/GOLES, and Harry Bubbins/Friends of Brook Park.
The recipient will receive a $2,500 cash gift and will be honored at a ceremony in early July.
To learn more about the award and to nominate someone click
here. For questions, please contact Lacey Tauber at or 212.935.3960 ext. 261.

No comments:

Subscribe in a reader